Garrett is sworn in as the new Chancellor of Education


Pictured, left to right, are: State Regent Steven W. Taylor, Regent Courtney Warmington, Chancellor Allison D. Garrett, Oklahoma Supreme Court Justice Yvonne Kauger, Regent Jack Sherry, Regent Ann Holloway, Regents’ Chair Jeffrey W. Hickman , Regent Michael C. Turpen, and Regent Dennis Casey.

Allison D. Garrett was sworn in on Friday as the ninth chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education.

Oklahoma Supreme Court Justice Yvonne Kauger presided over the swearing-in as Garrett succeeded Dr Glen D. Johnson, who had served as chancellor since 2007.

Garrett was appointed chancellor in September following a nationwide search. Previously, she served as President of Emporia State University, Executive Vice President of Abilene Christian University, and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs at Oklahoma Christian University. She was also an associate professor of law at Faulkner University in Montgomery, Alabama.

Garrett worked for over a decade at Walmart Inc., serving as Vice President and General Counsel of the Corporate Division and Vice President of Compliance and Benefits Planning. She holds a BA in English from Oklahoma Christian University, a JD from the University of Tulsa College of Law, and an LLM in securities regulation from Georgetown University.

“I am honored to work with the regents of state, our public institutions, the legislature and the business community to produce more graduates with the skills necessary to be competitive in our vibrant global economy,” said Garrett. “Higher education is the engine of growth and prosperity in our state and is profoundly changing the lives of people in Oklahoma. “

The Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education is a nine-member constitutional council that coordinates Oklahoma’s 25 public higher education institutions. Members include Jeffrey Hickman of Fairview, Michael C. Turpen of Oklahoma City, Steven W. Taylor of McAlester, Dennis Casey of Morrison; Jay Helm from Tulsa; Ann Holloway of Ardmore; Joseph L. Parker Jr. of Tulsa; Jack Sherry of Holdenville; and Courtney Warmington of Edmond.


About Author

Comments are closed.