ROUNDUP: Coal City wins ICE Tournament | Sports


Illinois Central Eight Conference Tournament

Coal City (204 points) edged Reed-Custer by 94.5 team points to take first place overall and win the ICE Tournament Championship. The Coalers totaled eight wrestlers who won the 2022 ICE Individual Champions. John Housman (113 lbs), Brant Widlowski (120), Jacob Piatak (126), Zach Finch (152), Derek Carlson (160), Joey Breneman (170), Braiden Young (182) and Ashton Harvey (195) all won their respective weight classes. Culn Lindemuth (106) and Dylan Cronk (220) added second places.

The Comets were led by two wrestlers who were crowned ICE Individual Champions. Kody Marschner (220 pounds) and Gunnar Berg (285) led Reed-Custer with individual championships in their respective weight classes. Seth Billingsley (120), Landon Markle (145) and Brenden Tribe (160) all added second places.

Peotone (94 points) took third place as a team.

Peotone improved to 18-4 overall. The Blue Devils were led by 16 points from Mady Kibelkis. Madi Schroeder contributed 15 points and Addie Graffeo 11 points.

Beecher 63, Reed Custer 37

Abby Shepard had 25 points, five assists, five rebounds and five steals to lead the Bobcats. Morgan McDermott added 22 points and five rebounds. Rhiannon Saller had eight rebounds to go along with 10 points.

Caelan Cole and Sam Sprimont had eight points apiece to lead the Comets. Brooklyn Harding had seven points, four assists and two rebounds.

Normal 54, Bradley-Bourbonnais 48

Ellie Haggard recorded a double-double with 23 points and 14 rebounds to lead the Boilermakers. Madison Kelly and Sadie Grabow had six points each.

Emmaleah Marshino had 10 points and four rebounds to lead the Bearcats. Abby Tovey had nine points and eight rebounds. Tiffany Schroeder contributed six points and a team-high 14 rebounds.

Kankakee 73, Harlan 29 (Chops Billinger Memorial Shootout)

Kankakee improved to 14-4 on aggregate this season with a dominating win over Harlan to claim their 14th victory in the last 15 games. Tomele Staples led the Kays with 13 points. Nate Hill had 11 points while Larenz Walters had 10 points.

Metamora 66, Bradley-Bourbonnais 51 (Metamora Roundball Classic)

The Boilermakers qualified for the 2022 Metamora Roundball Classic Tournament Championship, where they were defeated by the tournament hosts. Owen Freeman had 21 points and six rebounds. Anthony Kemp added seven points and a pair of boards.

Bradley-Bourbonnais 58, Canton 41 (Metamora Roundball Classic)

The Boilers headed to the league game after a dominating victory over Canton earlier in the day on Saturday. Freeman had a double-double with 17 points and 11 rebounds. Isaiah Davis added 12 points and Nick Allen had nine points and three boards.

Wilmington 59, Grant Park 42

Reid Juster and Ryder Meents scored 20 points apiece to lead the Wildcats. Juster also had eight rebounds and three steals. Tysen Meents had 10 points and five assists.

Sawyer Loitz finished with a team-high 17 points to lead the Dragons. John Kveck had 15 points and Rylan Heldt seven points.

Iroquois West 50, Paxton-Buckley-Loda 38

Iroquois West improved to 17-2 overall. Cannon Leonard had a double-double with 17 points and 14 rebounds to lead the Raiders. Peyton Rhodes had 11 points, six assists and five steals. Sam McMillan had 12 points.

Central 54, Gardner-South Wilmington 52

Central outscored GSW 19-9 in the second quarter to help fend off a late comeback attempt by the Panthers. Ryan Kohler led the Comets with 13 points, followed by teammates Michael Hess (eight points) and Luke Shoven (eight points).

Cale Halpin finished with 22 points, two rebounds and two steals to lead Gardner-South Wilmington. Bennett Grant added 13 points and six rebounds. Gabe McHugh had 10 rebounds, seven points and three steals.

Carter Garrelts scored 10 points to lead the Coalers. Colin Hart and Cason Headley finished with eight points each.

Bradley-Bourbonnais finished with 176.5 team points to claim third place out of 10 teams in the Evergreen Park Invitational. He was 99.5 points behind the first Reavis.

The Boilermakers relay team of Evan Short, Jake Lehman, Ethan Smith and Zach Scheiwiller won the 200-yard medley relay race. Short also had an individual victory in the 200 yard individual medley.


About Author

Comments are closed.