Tammy Powell is JR’s 2021 Woman of the Year


Tammy powell

OKLAHOMA CITY – Tammy Powell, President of SSM Health St. Anthony Hospital – Oklahoma City, est on 2021 Log recording Woman of the Year.

Powell, along with the other 50 Making a Difference winners for 2021, were honored by more than 400 attendees at a gala Thursday at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Woman of the Year program, now celebrating its 41st year, recognizes outstanding Oklahoma women who exemplify leadership both in their professional endeavors and in the communities in which they live.

Powell, also recognized this year by Log recording as the hero of healthcare 2021, has been at the forefront of pandemic management throughout the challenges of COVID-19. It manages nearly 3,400 employees and more than 600 physicians, overseeing one of the state’s largest hospitals with net sales of $ 600 million. During Powell’s tenure, St. Anthony went from an emergency room location in downtown Oklahoma City, with just over 50,000 emergency room visits, to five additional stand-alone emergencies in each of the most critical corners. farther from the Oklahoma City metro, which can now accommodate nearly 140,000 visits. .

“Tammy Powell exemplifies the backbone of our community and the healthcare industry during one of our state’s toughest times,” said Joe Dowd, editor of Log recording. “She has shown great courage, wisdom and resilience at a time when we need leaders more than ever to mobilize and be catalysts for change.”

“The Woman of the Year Award and the 50 Making a Difference honor recognize the excellence and success of Oklahoma women in our state. We are proud to support and celebrate these women tonight as well as all of our past recipients, ”said Dowd.

Thursday night’s celebration included an opening speech by Mautra Staley Jones, the 2020 Log recording American Mothers Inc.’s Woman of the Year and National Mother of the Year. The program also included the 23rd Annual Woman of the Year Forum, an opportunity to exchange ideas and network for the award recipients and their mentors, which was held virtually Thursday morning.

Six of the 2021 Making a Difference winners have been inducted into the Circle of Excellence – an honor reserved for those selected for the third time – Cindy Friedemann, Cynda C. Ottoway, Judy Richey, Julie Knutson, Leah T. Rudnicki and Nyla Ali Kahn.

This year’s event was supported by presenting sponsor Cigna; Sponsoring partners Cox Business and Delta Dental; Crowe & Dunlevy Reception Sponsor; AT&T Entertainment Sponsor; SSM Santé Gold Sponsor; The forum sponsors Cherokee Nation companies, OG&E, Oklahoma Natural Gas, and True Sky Credit Union; and corporate sponsors Morris Enterprises, OCAST, Oklahoma Electric Cooperative, Oklahoma Primary Care Association, The Oklahoma Academy and The Rudnicki Firm.

Detailed information on all of this year’s winners can be found online or in the Memorial Journal Woman of the year program magazine, which is inserted in Log recording October 15 edition.


About Author

Leave A Reply